Safeguarding

We have a dedicated Safeguarding team who work every day to ensure students at Penrice Academy are happy, healthy and enjoying their school experience.

Our Safeguarding Statement

At Penrice, we recognise that:

· the welfare of children is paramount in all the work we do and in all the decisions we take

· all children, regardless of age, disability, gender reassignment, race, religion or belief, sex, or sexual orientation have an equal right to protection from all types of harm or abuse and a right to learn

· some children are additionally vulnerable because of the impact of previous experiences, their level of dependency, communication needs or other issues

· Working in partnership with children, young people, their parents, carers and other agencies is essential in promoting young people’s welfare.

We will seek to keep Students safe by:

· valuing, listening to and respecting them

· building a safeguarding culture where staff, children, young people and their

families, treat each other with respect and are comfortable about sharing concerns.

· Appointing a nominated child protection lead for students, a deputy and a safeguarding governor.

· Developing and implementing an effective online safety policy and related procedures

· adopting child protection and safeguarding best practice through our policies, procedures and code of conduct for staff and volunteers

· using our safeguarding and child protection procedures to share concerns and relevant information with agencies who need to know, and involving children, young people, parents, families and carers appropriately

· creating and maintaining an anti-bullying environment and ensuring that we have a policy and procedure to help us deal effectively with any bullying that does arise

· Ensuring that we provide a safe physical environment for our children, young people, staff and volunteers, by applying health and safety measures in accordance with the law and regulatory guidance.

Penrice Academy Safeguarding Team

Kay Adams – Designated Safeguarding Lead and Senior Vice Principal (kadams@penrice.org.uk)

Heidi Spurgeon – Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead and Designated Teacher of Children in Care (hspurgeon@penrice.org.uk)

Martin Carter – Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (mcarter@penrice.org.uk)

Abby Macdonald – Safeguarding Team (amacdonald@penrice.org.uk)

Victoria Goodison-Powell – Safeguarding Team (vgoodison-powell@penrice.org.uk)

Pete Banfield – Safeguarding Team (pbanfield@penrice.org.uk)

Emma Paylor – Safeguarding Team (epaylor@penrice.org.uk)

Pete Brodey – Safeguarding Team (pbrodeyd@penrice.org.uk)

Amanda Davey – Safeguarding Administrator (adavey@penrice.org.uk)

Belinda Peckett – Safeguarding Governor

NSPCC – Keeping Children Safe

 

There are also two leaflets available to you as PDF’s in our downloadable resources section at the bottom of this page.  These are –

A leaflet from the Stop It Now team which gives advice for Parents/Carers on protecting children and young people from sexual abuse and exploitation.  The leaflet title is Parents Protect! 

A leaflet that outlines what to look for and signs of Child Sexual Exploitation. The leaflet title is Child Sexual Exploitation – Advice for Carers and Parents to Know and See the Signs

 

 


Introducing new E-safety News & Information – all the latest news, articles, definitions and up-to-date information about e-safety issues.

What is Sexting? – NSPCC Guide

 

What parents need to know about Kik (social media app)