Safeguarding

We have a dedicated Safeguarding team who work every day to ensure students at Penrice Academy are happy, healthy and enjoying their school experience.

Our Safeguarding Statement

At Penrice, we recognise that:

· the welfare of children is paramount in all the work we do and in all the decisions we take

· all children, regardless of age, disability, gender reassignment, race, religion or belief, sex, or sexual orientation have an equal right to protection from all types of harm or abuse and a right to learn

· some children are additionally vulnerable because of the impact of previous experiences, their level of dependency, communication needs or other issues

· Working in partnership with children, young people, their parents, carers and other agencies is essential in promoting young people’s welfare.

We will seek to keep Students safe by:

· valuing, listening to and respecting them

· building a safeguarding culture where staff, children, young people and their

families, treat each other with respect and are comfortable about sharing concerns.

· Appointing a nominated child protection lead for students, a deputy and a safeguarding governor.

· Developing and implementing an effective online safety policy and related procedures

· adopting child protection and safeguarding best practice through our policies, procedures and code of conduct for staff and volunteers

· using our safeguarding and child protection procedures to share concerns and relevant information with agencies who need to know, and involving children, young people, parents, families and carers appropriately

· creating and maintaining an anti-bullying environment and ensuring that we have a policy and procedure to help us deal effectively with any bullying that does arise

· Ensuring that we provide a safe physical environment for our children, young people, staff and volunteers, by applying health and safety measures in accordance with the law and regulatory guidance.

Penrice Academy Safeguarding Team 2022-23

Dave Lewis
Designated Safeguarding Lead
dlewis@penrice.org.uk

Abby Macdonald
Operational Designated Safeguarding Lead
amacdonald@penrice.org.uk

Martin Carter
Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead
mcarter@penrice.org.uk

Rebecca Kevill
Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead
rkevill@penrice.org.uk

Pete Banfield
Safeguarding Team
pbanfield@penrice.org.uk

Pete Brodey
Safeguarding Team
pbrodey@penrice.org.uk

Laura Billington
Safeguarding Team
lbillington@penrice.org.uk

Jon Scotland
Safeguarding Team
jscotland@penrice.org.uk

Claire Gurd
Teacher of CIC
cgurd@penrice.org.uk

Amanda Davey
Safeguarding Administrator
adavey@penrice.org.uk

Jackie Sage
Safeguarding Governor

There are also two leaflets available to you as PDF’s in our downloadable resources section at the bottom of this page. These are –

A leaflet from the Stop It Now team which gives advice for Parents/Carers on protecting children and young people from sexual abuse and exploitation. The leaflet title is Parents Protect! 

A leaflet that outlines what to look for and signs of Child Sexual Exploitation. The leaflet title is Child Sexual Exploitation – Advice for Carers and Parents to Know and See the Signs

 

 


Introducing new E-safety News & Information – all the latest news, articles, definitions and up-to-date information about e-safety issues.

Core CELT Safeguarding Policies
Other Useful Links