Humanities

Geography

The study of geography stimulates an interest in and a sense of wonder about places. It helps young people make sense of a complex and dynamically changing world. It explains where places are, how places and landscapes are formed, how people and their environment interact, and how a diverse range of economies, societies and environments are interconnected. It builds on pupils’ own experiences to investigate places at all scales, from the personal to the global.

History

History fires pupils’ curiosity and imagination, moving and inspiring them with the dilemmas, choices and beliefs of people in the past. It helps pupils develop their own identities through an understanding of history at personal, local, national and international levels. It helps them to ask and answer questions of the present by engaging with the past. Pupils find out about the history of their community, Britain, Europe and the world. They develop a chronological overview that enables them to make connections within and across different periods and societies.

Religious Studies

RS provokes challenging questions about the ultimate meaning and purpose of life, beliefs about God, the self and the nature of reality, issues of right and wrong and what it means to be human. It develops students’ knowledge and understanding of Christianity and other world views that offer answers to question such as these e.g. science. It offers opportunities for personal reflection and spiritual development. It enhances students’ awareness and understanding of Christianity and its beliefs, teachings, practices and forms of expression, as well as its influence on individuals.

Humanities Team

Mrs E Oldrieve – Head of History (eoldrieve@penrice.org.uk)

Mrs R Challis – Head of Geography (rchallis@penrice.org.uk)

Mr C Heartford – Assistant Principal (cheartford@penrice.org.uk)

Mr D Varley (dvarley@penrice.org.uk)

Mr I Whiting (iwhiting@penrice.org.uk)

Mrs B Brittain (bbrittain@penrice.org.uk)

Mrs S Malcolm (smalcolm@penrice.org.uk)

Mr A Sutcliffe (asutcliffe@penrice.org.uk)

Mr P Banfield (pbanfield@penrice.org.uk)

Mr S Buse (sbuse@penrice.org.uk)

Mr J Wood (jwood@penrice.org.uk)